Gallery Photos

Workshop with Christine Forbes, Still Life - watercolour. A loose interpretation of reality.
Charcoal and drawing workshop with Heather Jolliffe
This workshop followed on from Phil’s recent demo where he showed how to use encaustic wax techniques to create original and unique paintings.
WINNER. Lindsay Shaw. "Campervan" Highly Commended Christine Woodward. "50's Style" Nigel Lewis. "Woman watching hurdy gurdy" Margaret Cairns. "Family Outing"
Kay Gale was the winner for both the Dorothy Tubb traditional landscape in oils award and the Drawing Award. Her winning landscape painting of Swanbourne Lake is shown with Dennis Lascelles, the guest artist,who judged the work. The other photo shows Allan Plumpton who won the Dominic Carlton Sketch Book Award.
Karin Moorehouse, showed us how to achieve more successful portraits using Oils”. In her portraiture she looks for the unfocused moment; “the private gaze in the sitter’s eye
Award winning artist and teacher Jane Dwight demonstrating her very considerable skill and knowledge of the ancient art of Chinese brush painting.
‘Bravura’ was the topic for this year’s critique and our artists very ably demonstrated a mastery of this in the many impressive paintings they submitted. Congratulations to Roger Lewis, this year’s winner of the Tom Groom Award, pictured with Downland’s President, Marcus Finch who had the difficult job of critiquing and judging the entries. Highly Commended Awards also went to Judith Avenell, Margaret Cairns and Kay Gale’
Soraya has received a number of prestigious art awards for her painting in recent years. She is an elected member of the Society of Women Artists and The Society of Floral Painters and is currently the President of the Andover Art Society.